RSS

Wasserman Schultz officiates same-sex wedding in DC

16 Jun

\

WASHINGTON (WSVN) — Debbie Wasserman Schultz made history in D.C. Monday night when she became the first sitting member of Congress to officiate a same-sex wedding.

The congresswoman from South Florida said she was asked to be part of Miami Beach residents Robert Wolfarth and Alex Fernandez’s big moment. “They asked me if I would consider officiating their wedding, and I said, ‘Absolutely,'” she said.

Wolfarth said he used to think he would never have the opportunity to be a groom. “I never thought in my lifetime that I would have the opportunity to get married,” he said. “I had resigned myself to the fact that perhaps it may never happen.”

Saturday, with suits in hand, the couple boarded a plane bound for the nation’s capital, as they pre

pared to bring their nine-year wait to an end. “We wanted to really kind of have our own special day,” said Wolfarth.

Read More Here

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 16, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
